MUSIC NEWS: Gorillaz release new album on Feb. 24

Gorillaz release “Cracker Island,” their eighth studio album, and first album since 2020, with notable features such as Tame Impala and Stevie Nicks.

Gorillaz are a Grammy award-winning, virtual band from England, consisting of four core members. Formed in 1998, Gorillaz have been present in the music industry for over 20 years, releasing multiple albums which feature various genres of music, such as alternative rock, art pop, hip hop, electronic, and synth-pop.

“Cracker Island” highlights some of the EDM aspects of their unique sound, and incorporates incredible features such as Tame Impala, Stevie Nicks, Bootie Brown, Thundercat, Beck, Adeleye Omotayo, and Bad Bunny.

Leading up to the release of their new album, Gorillaz released multiple singles, such as “New Gold,” “Skinny Ape,” and “Silent Running.”

In addition to the 10 songs on their new album, Gorillaz released a deluxe album on Feb. 27, which includes 15 songs. “New Gold,” Gorillaz hit single that was released in August, and acted as an announcement of their new album, has a popular remix on the deluxe album from Dom Dolla.

Gorillaz animated member, Noodle Hobbs, says, “’Cracker Island’ is the sound of change and the chorus of the collective.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s